Skip to content

A Christmas Sonnet

December 25, 2010

O Lord my God, born on this same day

Of womankind, accepting human state,

That we might share your life, avoid the fate

Of Adam, Eve, our parents gone astray;

Accept, O Lord, your weakened servant’s plea,

From one whose heart should be your cave or manger;

Who finds instead his heart always a stranger,

An inn whose door is closed with iron key.

My heart should leap for joy, my lips should praise

The coming of thy humbled, hidden might;

Instead my heart drones on, my lips shut tight;

My life proceeds deep rutted in its ways.

Still, hear my cry, O Lord, and be born here;

I’ll cleanse and wash your cave with sigh and tear.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

